Chair 1989-1991. An epediomology pioneer, considered a giant of the field. Over time, two major research lines emerged. One dealing with physiological aspects of plant diseases and the other one focusing on ecological aspects and botanical epidemiology. For more than two decades the Laboratory of Phytopathology had two sections and two chairs. The section ecological phytopathology was chaired by Prof. Jan-Carel Zadoks and focused on epidemiology, disease forecasting, integrated disease management and biological control of airborne and soil-borne pathogens. The section physiological phytopathology was chaired by Prof. Johan Dekker and focused on the mode of action of fungicides and mechanisms underlying reduced fungicide sensitivity in the target organisms.